getting through January 2010

January 4, 2010


January was never really my favorite month of the year i  guess that’s because it’s associated with leftovers and new beginnings .  The weather for starters exhibit days with moderate to low sunlight, shorter days i suppose, having to wear more clothing, a seemingly lack of spunk or energy, reduction of outdoor activities, and much more.

I guess i shouldn’t be so against January because it presents me with a time to do a little reflection, to start a new project , to re-kindle  a friendship, rumble through last year’s clothing and sundry of household items i no longer use nor desire to use, ponder an increased exercise  program,  alter my food intake from quantity to quality, or plan a garden , read those books i purchased three months ago, or  plan more time with my family and pets.

Quite frankly,there are so many things I could do during January that i haven’t mentioned i.e. games, dancing, monopoly, scrabble, and yes, even puzzles! I think I had better stop right here for the moment regarding bashing January and choose a few things that really resonate with me as I embrace each day of this month that in the past quickly went unnoticed.

my list……

1 while i am walking our dogs, Tanner and Lucky, i will bring along a bag to pick up trash that’s been left along the curb

2  when around my friends, associates, strangers…. take a moment to listen to what they are really saying before i jump in with my response

3 give without thinking about why  and to whom

4 i did say two things but …..this one is most important , at least to me….Giving Thanks to God …..and saying thank you, thank you ,and many more thank yous  to all unknown and known gifts, challenges, opportunities, successes, sorrows , and surprises  i experience!

I think that I am really going to be very engaged this month  if not with so much to do  but with so much to think about what i am capable of doing for myself and for others!

That’s getting through January………….

Curt Canada provides advisement and coaching at FindingYourZenith a personal development, leadership, and executive coaching practice in Washington, DC.  Curt is a member of the International Coach Federation and Christian Coaches Network.

3 Responses to “getting through January 2010”


  1. You’ve got some great stuff here folks, I”ve signed up for your RSS feed so I’ll know when you update the site…Thanks…

  2. Lucina Nesti Says:

    Thanks for the article. Blogging is replacing main stream news for many people.


  3. Hi! Thats a thouroughly interesting blog post. Its funny that I wouldnt have considered a few of the aspects that you mentioned but its defintiely given me some food for thought and a few things to consider. Thanks again for the post and keep it up! Cheers James


Leave a Reply

