What Do Tennis Balls and Back Pain and Butts Have In Common?

May 29, 2012


Have you recently suffered from a nagging back related pain or spasm? Have you gone to the neighborhood pharmacy or chemist seeking relief using products on the shelf or those recommended by friends? 

This past week I went through Hell both day and night and nothing seemed to work!

 Most of us can answer these questions or at least know someone who has suffered from such agony. The following day after using most of these products and cure alls my pain had worsened and shifted to another area of my body. It appears  now time to return to work  or to succumb to extreme medical relief.

It can be very costly and temporary. So what will you do the next time. I have an answer or suggestion YOU might want to consider. How about a physical therapist/personal trainer.

Here’s what I learned today from my new physical therapist who gives house calls: ( my interpretation)

1 our bodies and all of its networks and neural pathways and skeletal  parts are wrapped miraculously around cellular fluid and an intricate muscular masterpiece.

2 if you were to look closely and survey the anatomy you will notice a well designed symmetric anatomical system well-balanced to get through most of the stuff we put it through.

3 if for some reason we do not take care of this body whether getting enough rest, “proper” exercise, food and liquids( not alcohol) preferably water and stretch the hell out of yourselves daily morning and evening, your body will signal  pain and more pain leading to an obvious shut down of its parts or a compensation (one part working for the weak part) bringing about an imbalance.

4 if you notice  extreme pain when pressing on the surface of your anatomy ie  back, legs,Achilles, shoulders, calfs, hamstrings, you’re re not receiving the right amount of elasticity and manipulation and liquid to bring about ultimum flexibility. Thus, the muscles become rigid, stress moves in, and the slightest overworking of a certain area can result in all sorts of things..but what I noticed in my body over the past week was an extreme pain in my lower back on both sides of the spinal cord and pain running down my legs.

5 I have some work to do and Thank God a friend recommended a physical therapist /personal trainer that I can report is worth his fee. I became educated about the trauma I am experiencing. He shared how the muscles work and how the body works for us.

6  Most importantly, the areas that brought on this wake-up call(even though I attend a gym five days a week)  had been neglected. I mentioned that I play tennis and do ergonomic exercises  and ride a bike as in spinning.  Cardiovascular, I am doing exceptionally well. However  my overall physical makeup and development is in need of attention!

* I received a house call and surprisingly a lot of stretching(painful; I actually cried; deep tissue manipulation with the use of my ptherapist’s elbow.  He pinpointed my areas of future exercises and how to use the tennis ball placing force on those painful areas on my bum or butt that were the result of the tightening of muscles that were so intricately connected to the muscles in my lower back. These knots and muscular rigidity resulted in my back injury. 

No butts about it… If I so listen and set goals to get my body in best performance, my lower back problems may never occur again.

What’s your takeaway?   Personally, I can not stress how important stretching is prior to any strenous activity.

* This physical therapist/house calls/recommended highly/ in the Arlington Va and Washington DC metro area. Email me at curtcanada@comcast.net and I will send his information!

Curt Canada works with clients seeking personal and leadership development coaching and consulting in Washington DC.

Leave a Reply

